Essential SaaS Finance Metrics to Track Growth and Profit

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More people than ever are building agencies, freelance businesses, and SaaS products from scratch. But taking a company from its first dollar to serious scale isn’t just about a great idea — it’s about tracking the financial metrics that show whether you’re truly growing in the right direction.

 

This guide covers the essential SaaS finance metrics for measuring performance, attracting investors, and scaling efficiently. However, if you want to scale quickly and build a sustainable business, it’s essential to simplify your bookkeeping processes.

 

At AccountsBalance, we do just that. Save time and focus on growth—leave the bookkeeping to us.

 

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TL;DR – Key Financial Metrics for SaaS Companies

 

Here’s a list of the key financial metrics for SaaS companies, divided into categories:

 

CategoryKey SaaS Finance Metric
Core Financials1. Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR)
2. Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)
3. Bookings
4. Burn Rate
5. Average Revenue Per User (ARPU)
6. SaaS Magic Number
Acquisition7. Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)
8. Customer Payback Period
9. LTV: CAC Ratio
Growth10. Customer Lifetime Value (LTV)
11. Expansion MRR Rate
12. SaaS Quick Ratio
Churn and Retention13. Customer Churn Rate
14. Customer Retention Rate
Engagement15. Net Promoter Score (NPS)
16. Customer Engagement Score (CES)
17. Monthly Active Users (MAU)

 

What Are SaaS Finance Metrics?

 

SaaS finance metrics are measurements that show the overall financial health as a function of handling finance, operations, and customers for long-term growth and sustainability.

 

Remember, these metrics are as good as your bookkeeping abilities. The bookkeeping tasks can be daunting, especially for online businesses.

 

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How SaaS Finance Metrics Drive Growth and Scalability

 

By analyzing the following SaaS metrics, you can tell when and how to drive growth and scalability.

 

  • Annual Recurring Revenue: Investors use ARR to compare year-on-year, long-term growth of similar-sized businesses in the same industry.
  • Monthly Recurring Revenue: The average MRR across various price tiers indicates the monthly, short-term growth trend for investors.
  • Expansion MRR Rate: The incremental revenue from current customers indicates increased customer satisfaction and loyalty, which can be used to forecast future growth.
  • Customer Lifetime Value: The value of profits from a customer over the lifespan of their relationship with the company indicates where to invest in the customer journey stage to drive business growth.
  • CAC: LTV Ratio: The cost of acquiring customers should always be lower than the customer lifetime value. Otherwise, there is little scope for scaling.
  • Bookings: What the customer commits to spending over a certain period indicates room for business expansion.
  • SaaS Magic Number: A higher rate of revenue growth in comparison to customer acquisition expenses creates business growth scope.
  • SaaS Quick Ratio: A company can scale if it can attract more new customers and generate more business from existing customers compared to lost customers.
  • Customer Retention and Churn Rates: The rate at which a business retains or loses its customers can create or shrink its growth prospects.
  • Net Promoter Score: A pool of loyal customers who recommend a SaaS solution to others can drive up the NPS. New customers spell scalability.
  • Customer Engagement Score: Businesses can scale if they notice an uptick in the quality of customer engagement with the company’s online touchpoints.
  • Burn Rate: Spending faster than retaining cash affects growth potential.
  • Average Revenue Per User: A low ARPU restricts room for business growth.
  • Customer Payback Period: When cash flows in faster, businesses can scale quickly.

 

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17 Key SaaS Finance Metrics to Track

 

Now, let’s take a closer look at the key SaaS KPI metrics mentioned above so that you know how to calculate and analyze them.

 

For easier understanding, these are categorized under core financials, growth, acquisition, churn and retention, and engagement metrics.

 

Core Financials

 

These show the financial health of the company, its ability to generate cash flows, and its return on sales and marketing investments in relation to revenue:

  1. Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR): The recurring revenues expected from customers over a period of 12 months. For example, if each of 50 customers pays $100 per month, then the ARR is 50 × $100 × 12 = $60,000. This metric is used to forecast future earnings and helps track growth and trends. It also shows the efficiency of the SaaS revenue model.
  2. Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR): The total amount earned every month from customer subscriptions. For example, if 50 customers each pay $30 per month, the MRR is 50 × $30 = $1,500. With this SaaS finance metric, you can compare month-by-month performance and spot any seasonality or low periods to sharpen your business strategy.
  3. Bookings: The total value of the promised contract between the SaaS business and its customers over a certain period. For example, if a customer agrees to pay $24,000 for one year, that’s booked revenue. The customer will actually pay $2,000 per month, not the entire yearly amount at the time of signing. Bookings show the possible topline growth pattern.
  4. Burn Rate: This measures how fast cash flows in versus outflows. It predicts how soon funds will deplete and operations will be affected.
  5. Average Revenue Per User (ARPU): One of the key SaaS financial metrics, it measures the average revenue generated per user by dividing the MRR by the number of users. Users may subscribe to different price tiers, and that’s why it’s important to find out the average revenue from each customer. It helps tweak product, pricing, and marketing strategies.
  6. SaaS Magic Number: One of the key SaaS KPI metrics is the magic number, which calculates the revenue growth percentage in relation to sales and marketing expenses. Subtract the past quarter’s recurring revenue from the current quarter’s recurring revenue and multiply by 4. Then divide the result by the past quarter’s marketing and sales expenses.If the SaaS magic number is greater than or equal to 0.75, it means that the customer acquisition is efficient and there is room for scaling.

 

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Growth Metrics

 

These SaaS metrics indicate whether the company is scaling efficiently, maximizing revenue while minimizing losses.

 

  1. Customer Lifetime Value (LTV): The total revenue the company earns from a customer before they cancel the subscription. It is calculated by multiplying the ARPU by the contract length. Customers with higher LTV need to be nurtured so that they don’t cancel the subscription. With higher revenues expected from them, a business can plan its investment and growth path.
  2. Expansion MRR Rate: Expansion includes upgrades, cross-sales, and add-ons. Expansion MRR rate is the extra revenue generated from the current customer base by selling more than the basic services to them. For example, an upgrade from a Basic to a Pro tier.
  3. SaaS Quick Ratio: This metric gives a deeper insight into revenue gains against losses. While expansion includes upsells, cross-sells, and add-ons, contraction includes downgrades and cancelled subscriptions, resulting in lost customers. The SaaS quick ratio is calculated by adding new and expansion MRR, then dividing the total by the sum of churn MRR and contraction MRR, and finally multiplying the result by 100.If the ratio is high, it shows growth efficiency despite lost or contracted customers.

 

Acquisition Metrics

 

Some of the key SaaS financial metrics that reveal how much the customers are worth in relation to the cost of acquiring and retaining them:

 

  1. Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC): To get every new customer, the company must spend on sales, advertising, and marketing, referred to as CAC. It shows if the acquisition cost justifies the number of customers. It’s often analyzed in relation to the lifetime value of the customer (LTV) to get a clearer picture of how much the customers are worth in the long run. To track this crucial metric, the importance of bookkeeping cannot be understated. Every financial transaction must be recorded to calculate CAC accurately.
  2. Customer Payback Period: The customer payback period is the time it takes to get back the investments on acquiring a customer. Ideally, a customer payback period should be short, as it means that the cash flows are fast enough to recover the acquisition costs.
  3. LTV: CAC Ratio: This ratio indicates whether it’s worth spending the money to acquire a customer and is calculated by dividing the LTV by CAC. A good rule of thumb ratio is 3, which means that the company earns $3 for every dollar spent, indicating scaling opportunities.

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Churn and Retention Metrics

 

These SaaS finance metrics measure whether the customer base is expanding or not, indicating potential scalability and revenue growth:

 

  1. Customer Churn Rate: The percentage of customers who discontinue using the SaaS within a specific period. It’s calculated by dividing the number of customers who cancel the subscription in a month by the total number of customers at the start of the month and multiplying by 100. A high churn rate indicates loss of revenues and threatens the financial stability of the business. To prevent customers from leaving, SaaS companies offer loyalty programs and continually improve their products to cater to their specific needs.
  2. Customer Retention Rate: As opposed to churn rate, the customer retention rate calculates how many customers remain among the total acquired over a month. For instance, if a company has 100 customers in January and 80 at the beginning of February, the retention rate is 80/100 × 100=80%.A high customer retention rate spells customer satisfaction, which leads to higher revenues and company growth.

 

Engagement Metrics

 

These SaaS finance metrics evaluate the strength of the relationship between the customer and the product:

 

  1. Net Promoter Score (NPS): One of the SaaS KPI metrics to track, it shows how willing your current customers are to recommend your product to others. A high NPS means that customer satisfaction is high. You should nurture your loyal customers so that they promote your SaaS product willingly and help get more customers and revenue. A low NPS reveals customers who are not satisfied and are likely to switch. Convert these dissatisfied customers into steady ones by paying extra attention to their needs and offering free or discounted services.
  2. Customer Engagement Score (CES): This metric measures the strength of customer engagement with the product by tracking their online behavior, including the frequency and duration of this engagement. The higher the CES, the greater the chances of better customer retention rates. This helps forecast future growth and plan expansions.
  3. Monthly Active Users (MAU):The number of unique users within a month who actively engage with the SaaS product on the app, website, or social media. It’s a metric that investors are interested in as it reveals the company’s ability to attract and engage more users with the right product. This translates to higher potential revenue and scope for growth.

The only way to effectively analyze key SaaS financial metrics is through financial clarity. Get your business financials in order. Schedule a call with our founders.

 

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SaaS Financial Software That Simplifies KPI Tracking

 

There are many software solutions in the market that capture your company’s KPIs, but you need to know which ones truly simplify KPI tracking and make them meaningful for your business.

 

Some of the top financial software that simplify KPI tracking are:

 

  1. Vena: Accurately tracks and analyzes key SaaS finance metrics and forecasts revenue with an Excel-based cloud solution. They provide real-time reports on financial KPIs for SaaS companies for quick, data-driven decisions.
  2. databox: An all-in-one SaaS analytics platform, it tracks SaaS metrics that matter from one place. It shares real-time reports for faster decision-making, tracks and monitors team goals, accurately forecasts growth patterns, and identifies scope for improvement.
  3. Sage Intacct: With the capability to track 200+ metrics and generate investor-ready reports, this software shares real-time monitoring and deep insights to fuel growth.
  4. SimpleKPI: Featuring ready-to-use templates and customization options, this platform pulls finance data from multiple sources and generates KPI reports to share both internally and publicly, all from one place.
  5. Planful: Driven by speed and accuracy, Planful uses AI-driven finance KPI tracking to pinpoint bottlenecks, make quick decisions, and grow the business confidently.

 

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Best Practices for Tracking SaaS Financial KPIs

It’s not enough to use a SaaS financial software for KPI tracking. You need to follow some best practices as outlined below to get the most out of tracking your SaaS financial KPIs:

  • Prioritize key metrics: Set the metrics that are most important to your SaaS business so that you are forewarned of potential problems and can take steps accordingly.
  • Track consistently: Track the SaaS finance metrics every month, as it’s a monthly subscription-based model.
  • Use a centralized dashboard: Don’t keep your data spread over multiple files and tools. Use a centralized dashboard so that everyone in the team is literally on the same page.
  • Segment the metrics: Instead of looking at a single metric, use segmentation like region, customer types, and pricing plan for focused actions.
  • Document metric formulas: Use a unified document with metric definitions across teams to avoid confusion and misinterpretations.
  • Benchmark against the industry standards: Don’t analyze and act on your metrics in isolation. Compare them against the industry benchmarks to get the bigger picture.
  • Connect with strategic decisions: Use the SaaS KPI metrics to drive strategic business decisions.

 

A person in a white shirt working on a laptop, analyzing graphs and charts, with a smartphone and documents on the table.

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Finally, let’s look at some of the most commonly asked questions by SaaS businesses:

Can SaaS Metrics Vary by Business Stage?

Yes, SaaS metrics vary by business stage. A new company will focus on ARR and MRR to expand its customer base, rather than prioritizing profitability.

For mature SaaS companies, profitability and customer retention metrics are more important, like LTV: CAC ratio, SaaS quick ratio, and customer churn rate.

What’s the Difference Between MRR and ARR?

MRR is the monthly recurring revenue generated from customers during a month. ARR is the annual recurring revenue generated from customers over a year.

What Is a Good CAC to LTV Ratio for SaaS?

A 3:1 LTV to CAC ratio is a good benchmark for SaaS, indicating that the business earns $3 for every $1 spent.

Which SaaS Finance Metrics Are Most Often Overlooked?

Some of the most neglected SaaS finance metrics are customer payback period, SaaS quick ratio, expansion MRR rate, burn rate, monthly active users, and customer engagement score.

 

Conclusion

 

SaaS businesses require swift decisions on key SaaS financial metrics. Now that you have a fair understanding of which metrics to track for profitability and growth, it’s time to focus on planning and expansion.

 

However, the first step is to maintain accurate records of your books. As the list of bookkeeping services can be long, it’s wise to get dedicated bookkeeping services to free up your precious time.

 

Experience hassle-free bookkeeping with a dedicated team. Get started with a free month of bookkeeping.

Want help with your bookkeeping? We make it easy. Get startedSpeak w/ a Founder, or Schedule a Callback

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Connor Gillivan

CMO and Founder of AccountsBalance and EcomBalance. Founded FreeUp (acquired in 2019). Founder of Outsource School. Published Author. Investor.

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